What do Teachers Need to Know?

This year, I 978-1-55766-710-6am working with my co-editors (Fred Orelove & Donna Gilles) on the 5th edition of Educating Children with Severe and Multiple Disabilities. Our first edition came out in 1987 and the book has been used to train about 50,000 teachers and other professionals over the years. The publisher, Brookes Publishing Co., has agreed that my share of the royalties will be paid directly to the MECP2 Duplication Syndrome Fund at the Rett Syndrome Research Trust. It won’t be a lot, but it will provide a few extra dollars in the coming years.

More importantly, there is another reason that I am posting this here. In the next couple of weeks, I will writing a chapter on how teachers and other school personnel can partner with parents and families to work together for kids. This will be the first time I write this chapter for the book, and I really want to write this one. The chapter has always been written by professionals in the field, and I want to give it more of a parents perspective. The last 23 years with our son going from preschool to elementary to middle school to high school and eventually through a postscondary university program have certainly given me some perspective as a parent, but I am just ONE parent. I would certainly be interested in hearing from other parents about what they think teachers need to understand about parents, families, and students with severe and multiple disabilities. If there is something you think is important, please drop me a line, use the comments section below,  or use the MECP2 Duplication Syndrome Family Talk Facebook Group to post your thoughts if you are a group member. They don’t need to be long and elaborate. Thanks for considering this request.

You can send me ideas using the contact form below:

Leave a Reply

