Andrew Solomon on Parents of Children with Severe Disabilities

I am sorry that I have been neglecting this blog. I’ve just been trying to balance too many things. This excellent video from Andrew Solomon is definitely something that parents of children with severe disabilities need to access.,,, and it inspired me to try to catch up. See previous post on his book, Far From the Tree, for more on the book this is based upon.

One response to “Andrew Solomon on Parents of Children with Severe Disabilities

  1. Mary Anne Smith

    Oh, I was so happy to hear this expressed! My Grandson who passed away almost a year ago was very aware of everything in his life. We learned sign language and as I would speak to him I would sign as well. If I forgot to sign and would only use speech he would indicate for me to sign. During his final days at the hospital, I told him that I was going now to sleep and I hoped he had a peaceful night because I would be so happy to she him the next day. And I told him before I go I want to give you a kiss. Then he smooched up his lips for that kiss. I had spoken no word and had expressed it all in sign language…….yes they are aware.

Leave a Reply

