Far From the Tree

FFTTJust a week ago, I posted an entry on the Agony and Ecstasy of parenting a child with severe and multiple disabilities. The next day, a friend was telling me about a remarkable interview he heard on CBC radio with Andre Solomon, author of Far From the Tree: Parents, Children and the Search for Identity, that dealt with some of the same things. I was interested enough to check out one of many interviews with Solomon on the the internet, and I was 50 impressed with the interview that I bought the 996-page book.

Since this book has been a best seller for about a year now, I am a little embarrassed that I am just hearing about it. I haven’t finished it yet, but I have read enough to say that it is truly wonderful and important reading for anyone who wants to understand parents of children with intensive needs or any parent whose child is exceptional in some significant way. He bases his work on interviews with about 300 families and it is remarkably engaging and easy to read.

Here is one of the interviews with Solomon, but I strongly recommend reading the book that it is based upon.

2 responses to “Far From the Tree

  1. wow! A lot to take in. A lot a great ideas and thoughts there.

  2. Pingback: Andrew Solomon on Parents of Children with Severe Disabilities | MECP2 Duplication Syndrome Blog

Leave a Reply

